Winter Salad

Hi guys

Wishing you all a very happy 2013! I hope you guys had a great new year bash.

I have been so tied up with cakes and then went out for this vacation so didn’t really get time to post anything.

This post is really special for me. I am going to share the recipe of my very favorite winter salad with you all. It really gets me in the feel of winters. :p Its one scrumptious and healthy salad which I eagerly wait to have every winters. My mother makes it for me and that’s where I got the recipe from. Trust me, its a “to-die-for” recipe and very very easy to make. Its loaded with carrots and peanuts (actually these are the core and only ingredients) along with a few (regularly used) spices and herbs. The taste is sweet and tangy at the same time because of the carrots and lemon with a crunch added because of the nuts. You can go for variations and use whatever you have in hands, its that easy 😉

Winter Salad

Winter Salad

Let’s check the ingredients out:

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 3-4 curry leaves (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp raaii seeds (mustard seeds)
  • 3 whole cups Shredded carrots
  • 2 Finely chopped green chillies
  • 3/4 cup Toasted peanuts (you can substitute cashews with peanuts but reduce the amount to 1/2 cup. You can skip this step if you don’t like nuts)
  • 1 Lemon
  • Finely chopped coriander (optional)
  •  Salt to taste

Method:

  • Heat oil in a pan. Add raaii seeds to it. Let them crackle.
  • Add in the green chillies and peanuts.
  • Add in the shredded carrots and toss them well.
  • Cook them till slightly tender. (No need to cook them completely) I would never cook the carrots completely as I like the freshness.
  • Add in salt and 1/2 a lemon. (Depends on your taste. You can add more lemon if you want)
  • Add coriander and serve warm. You can store it in fridge if you want, but I like it warm.

Hope you like this amazing salad. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a comment